Old Lesson Plans 2009-10

Video:  "The Reason for the Seasons"  26 min.http://player.discoveryeducation.com/index.cfm?guidAssetId=48E066E2-9007-4ABD-96D8-C5149B2E69AC&blnFromSearch=1&productcode=US
 
"Ocean motions"  8:46
 
 
 
 
Tues. May 4
KCCT test
Periods 1, 4, 2, and 3
Moon phases ppt and worksheet

Wed. May 5
KCCT test
Periods 1, 4,
Periods 2 and 3-
Moon phases(cont), seasons ppt and worksheet, eclipses

Thurs. May 6
KCCT test
Periods 1, 4, and 5-Mastery lab for motion and forces

Fri. May 7
KCCT test
Periods 1, 4- seasons
Period 5-Moon phases ppt and worksheet



Mon. May 10
KCCT test
Periods 1, 4 eclipses
Period 5 Seasons ppt and worksheet

Tues. May 11
KCCT test
Periods 1, 4  Tides and review sheets over Earth moon, and sun
Period 2 and 3 Mastery lab

Wed. May 12
Regular schedule
Eclipses and tides video
Review worksheets
Mastery lab letter

Thursday May 13
Regular schedule
Mastery lab letter

Friday May 14
Regular schedule
Mastery lab letter



Monday May 17
NRT test
Periods 1, 4, 2, and 3-
Water cycle

Tuesday May 18
NO SCHOOL- ELECTION

Wednesday May 19
NRT test
Periods 1, 4, 5, and 6
Water cycle

Thursday May 20
Regular schedule
Nitrogen and carbon cycle

Friday May 21
Regular schedule
Ocean and weather




Monday May 24


Tuesday May 25


Wednesday May 26


Thursday May 27
Possible sixth grade field trip

Friday May 28
LAST DAY FOR STUDENTS--
HAVE A GREAT SUMMER BREAK!!



Predict landforms on maps using foldables

 

Mon. March 15
Rock cycle project continued

Tues. March 16
Rock cycle interactive activity
Instructions: must go through each section at top of webpage  1.  Types of rocks  2.  How rocks change  3. Rock cycle diagram
and take quiz at end.   Record each score at end of quiz for each section.
http://www.learner.org/interactives/rockcycle/index.html

When you are finished with the activity you may go to:
http://www.froguts.com/flash_content/index.html



Wed. March 17
Review for test

Thurs. March 18
Rock cycle test and open response

Friday March 19
Finish open response
Test analysis

Mon. March 8
Rock cycle activity
Investigating rocks

Tues. March 9
Rock cycle
Rock cycle crayon lab activity

Wed. March 10
Rock cycle interactive activity
Instructions: must go through each section at top of webpage  1.  Types of rocks  2.  How rocks change  3. Rock cycle diagram
and take quiz at end.   Teacher will record each score at end of quiz for each section.
http://www.learner.org/interactives/rockcycle/index.html

When you are finished with the activity you may go to:
http://www.froguts.com/flash_content/index.html

Thursday March 11
Rock cycle station activity

Fri. March 12
Rock cycle project
Choice:  Powerpoint or poster

Websites to search:

information about the different rock types         
http://www.learner.org/interactives/rockcycle/index.html
                                                                    
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sedimentary_rock

                                                                     
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metamorphic_rock

                                                                    
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Igneous_rock

rock cycle diagram pictures                             http://www.learner.org/interactives/rockcycle/index.html

definitions                                              
http://www.teachengineering.org/view_lesson.php?url=http://www.teachengineering.org/collection/cub_/lessons/cub_rock/cub_rock_lesson02.xml

rock pictures                                           
http://geology.com/rocks/

rock pictures                                          
http://geology.about.com/library/bl/images/blrockindex.htm

definition of compaction and cementation   
http://www.geolsoc.org.uk/gsl/site/GSL/lang/en/page3559.html




Monday April 26
TEST Wednesday
Review for test with clicker review
Finish Newton's interactive quiz
Handout Study guide for test-
click here for study guide


Tuesday April 27
Review for test

Wednesday April 28
Test over motion and forces (see Monday lesson plan for study guide)


Thursday April 29
Test analysis
TBA
Retest
Open response

Friday April 30
TBA
Finish test and open response if needed
(All-stars celebration at 1:00pm)

Monday April 19
Motion and forces webquest
Click here

Tuesday April 20
webquest on simple machines and potential and kinetic energy
Click here

Wednesday April 21
Speed graphing and notes
Click here
Click here for ppt

Thursday April 22
Newton's laws-foldables
Make a foldable of Newton's 3 laws which include these 3 things:
1.  Nickname for law
2.  Write the entire law
3.  Draw a picture of that law
Click here for ppt
Click here for quiz ppt

Friday April 23
Newton's laws-continue making foldable from yesterday



Monday April 12
Finish open response/test
Test analysis

Tuesday April 13
Unbalanced and balanced forces notes
Click here for notes
Click here for ppt


Wednesday April 14
Mastery lab
Reteach/retest

Thursday April 15
Making speed graph-graphing speed


Friday April 16
Substitute today
motion and forces


Mon. March 1
Learning check test
Redo open response

Tues. March 2
Weathering and erosion Unitedstreaming.com video
K-W-L worksheet
Review learning check test
Redo open response

Wed. March 3
Rock cycle Think-Know-Learned worksheet
Notes over 3 types of rock



Mon. Feb. 22
Preassessment over rock cycle unit

Tues. Feb. 23
Mastery lab /reteaching/retesting

Wed. Feb. 24
Mechanical weathering
Literacy through playdoh activity

Thurs. Feb. 25
Chemical weathering
Lab activity-testing pH levels

Fri. Feb. 26
Erosion
Literacy through playdoh activity



Wed. Feb. 17
TEST over atoms, elements, and the periodic table

Thurs. Feb. 18
Open response - summative-graded
Test analysis

Fri. Feb. 19
Reteach/retest for those who did not make mastery on Wed. test
extension activity for those who do not have to retest



Mon. Feb. 8
Review for unit test over atoms, elements, and the periodic table using clickers
Tues. Feb. 9
ions, isotopes, solutions, bonding
concept mapping
Wed. Feb. 10
SNOW DAY
Thurs. Feb. 11
SNOW DAY
Friday Feb. 12
Chemical formulas
Counting atoms




 


MONDAY OCT. 12
Mastery lab
Reteach - start retest on cells for those not reaching mastery
9-10 AM Assembly
TUESDAY OCT. 13
Finish retest on cells
Redo open response for those not proficiency
Review Heredity and Behavior core content standards and I CAN statements
Preassessment over heredity
WEDNESDAY OCT. 14
Review preassessment
Start note-taking worksheet over heredity with book
THURSDAY OCT. 15
Finish note-taking worksheet over heredity
DNA notes
Lab activity - DNA models
FRIDAY OCT. 16
Reward day KYCID and CATS



MONDAY SEPT. 28
Practice open response
Review for cells test on Tuesday
TUESDAY SEPT. 29
Cells unit test
May start open response
WEDNESDAY SEPT. 30
Review test
Open response



MONDAY SEPT. 21
Cells to body notes
Organelles vs. cell parts - what is the difference?
BrainPop movie and quiz
TUESDAY SEPT. 22
Photosynthesis vs. Cellular respiration
Start photosynthesis diner menu activity
WEDNESDAY SEPT. 23  -- thru 4th period -- Early release day
Photosynthesis diner menu activity
THURSDAY SEPT. 24
Human body corporation project
FRIDAY SEPT. 25
Continue human body corporation project







Vocab words:  Moon phases, spring tide, neap tide, lunar eclipse, solar eclipse, revolution, rotation, tilt, axis, seasons, full moon, new moon, first quarter, third quarter, waning, waxing

Click here for moon phase ppt
Click here for moon phase ppt
Click here for season ppt
Click here for eclipse ppt
Click here for tide ppt