Open vision bar

Nominations being sought for Next-Generation Student Council

In order to gain valuable feedback from Kentucky students and to engage student leaders in learning by doing, Education Commissioner Terry Holliday created the Next-Generation Student Council.This group meets with the commissioner and Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) staff, both in person and virtually, to discuss how decisions made at the state level are affecting students throughout Kentucky and provide feedback--from a student perspective--on critical issues impacting Kentucky students and schools.
The Next-Generation Student Council is a year-long program for Kentucky public school students in grades 10-12. The council will play a vital role in providing input regarding issues that face education in Kentucky and work with KDE staff to develop ideas that will work to improve and transform education.
The council seeks students with refreshing ideas and thoughtful insight into how to further improve our schools and student achievement. As such, all students are encouraged to apply in order to represent the diverse academic, geographic, demographic and school-size variables particular to our state.
Students can click here to access the application and FAQs for the council. Please encourage students to read the FAQs prior to completing the application. KDE will accept applications for the 2012-13 Next-Generation Student Council from August 1-31. The deadline to apply is Friday, August 31 by 4:30 p.m. ET.
A committee of KDE representatives will review and score all applications based on the answers provided. Appointments to the council will be based on how well the applicants communicated their ideas and goals. Four students will be selected for the openings on the council to serve during the 2012-13 school year.
Commissioner Holliday looks forward to working with the 2012-13 council and using the time together to generate results-oriented dialogue and solutions.
For questions please contact Stephanie Siria at or (502) 564-4201, ext. 4817.

Back to School News       Print
© 2023 Monroe County School District